Day 14 – Rochester to Medina

IMG_1957What a day!! Such a pleasure to enjoy the sun again-such an awesome improver of mood. I completely gloried in my next to last day on the canal and met up with the wonderful folks at the Spencerport Depot and Museum. Very cool that they have a partnership with the library so you can take books out from there-all related to that areas history and the Erie Canal.

So I met Nora and Bob and Doreen who work at the Depot and Museum there and was lucky enough to also meet with Donovan Shilling, a local who writes extensively on the history of the Rochester area and of course the canal. Definitely check out his works! He’s a wealth of knowledge in local lore and history. I’m sorry to miss their big event July 11th,  but I don’t think I’ll be done paddling to Chicago by then.

Then it was a leisurely pace, another rest stop and chat with two local kayakers, and more of the same. Gorgeous sky, lush green pastures, from what I could see, anyway, trees, and roof tops. Apparently they drain sections of the canal in the winter, I learned-from November to May-so that nothing breaks and floods the folks below. I am looking at roof tops, after all, and at one part the road goes UNDER the canal-about a mile or so before my pull out at Medina.

Which is where Lindsy and I are staying-and we don’t even have to share a bed! My friend, Maureen Pfeiffer, one of our Jersey SUP gang even tho she’s from NY (hey, we’ll totally claim her in our little gang) by relation, arranged for us to stay at this wonderful B&B here in Medina- the Historic Village Bed and Breakfast Inn. It is sweet! Soon Lindsy and I will be chowing down on a wonderful breakfast created by our lovely hosts, Betty Rogowski and her husband, Reinhard.

Betty told me that after Maureen made arrangements someone else called that either Lindsy or I had met who also offered to book a room for us! How incredibly nice is that!

I meant to include the link about the Onondaga Nation’s constant trouble with their lake. It is horribly polluted-just criminal, really, that it was used as a dumping ground like this. Anyone who questions our protections and regulations for clean water should definitely read this. This is common knowledge-once you have a resource so terribly polluted, it serves as a very valuable education tool, however, this “educational tool” comes at a great cost. How many folks have been impacted, and will this resource ever be reclaimed? An ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure and tenfold.    http://www.onondaganation.org/land-rights/onondaga-lake/

Leave a Reply

