Day 4 – Poughkeepsie to Hudson, NY

DSC02137Beautiful next to last day paddle yesterday before hitting the Erie canal. About twenty miles of it was against the tide, some spots easier than others, and then the rest at a seriously casual pace. While paddling up one stretch from Pouhghkeepsie I chanced upon a little ancient inlet into Hyde Park and the area where Marshall Seddon, of The River Connection, an outfitter, instruction, and tour guide company. He was out with John Wright enjoying the day (I’ve got photos that are posted on Instagram @1slowpaddler if you wanna take a look-it’s a super easy way to share the adventure). There is a ton of history here.  Apparently Henry Hudson also liked to tie up his boat there.

It ended up being the perfect little out stop. Marshall graciously let me use his wonderful clean bathroom, and stocked me up on fig newtons and Starbucks espresso, and fun conversation. Definitely a place to come back to as is so much of the Hudson I’ve seen so far. If you are in the area check it out.

A paddle with Marshall would be perfectly complemented by a visit to Hudson (which is if course on the Hudson).  Hudson is, according to Lindsy, a perfectly awesome little town. I think I’m gonna get her to write a bit about it-because she got to explore more of it than me. She also reached out to the Hudson Power Boat Association who is now kindly hosting my boat and also who fed me last night at their open house! A guy named Scott there who is very involved made sure I had plenty to eat and drink! Wonderful people, and good to know there’s a place where you can dock your boat. If you are on this river you don’t want to float by without taking the time out for a visit here.  We were then hosted by Chris Acker who has a lovely log home in Hudson, overlooking the Catskill mountains.  In the serendipitous nature of these paddles, Chris is the step-mother of Ed Acker of New York Outrigger and president of ECORA (East Coast Outrigger Racing Association), who paddled out with me part of way from Pier 66 in NYC.

Of course, all of these places depend on clean water. I do hope the EPA’s new clean water rules go into effect, as all stuff runs down hill, including the not so good stuff. No one wants dirty, stinky, water. In fact, I have a cousin who would love to live in a certain town along the Chesapeake but qualifies it with how he’d “live there if the water didn’t smell so as in the summer.”

Speaking of smells, and funky stuff on the water, I was surprised, when paddling between Verplanck and Cold Spring, how rumbly those oil trains are. I could feel the vibrations of it right through my boat. They are definitely a feature of the tracks on the West side of the river. Between the railroads and tankers and barges and fishermen, pleasure crafters and self powered vessels, this is one busy river! One big tanker had to blow his horn coming around a bend because folks were hanging out in their boats in the channel. Glad it wasn’t me! Those big guys need about 1/4 mile to stop, and of course downstream guys have the right of way, ESPECIALLY if you are a ginormous tanker!

Paddling under the Rip Van Winkle bridge I was startled by familiar voices. I knew my crazy little family was coming, I just had no idea they’d be there so soon, or there on that very high bridge looking down at me. They later joined me at the Hudson Power Boat Association where they were also fed, as well! Am looking forward to spending more time with them today-hope to hit the water sooner than I did yesterday. 42 degrees was NOT motivating!

Leave a Reply

